March 8, 2002

GLENDALE, CA— Twenty-one new Members of Congress have signed on as cosponsors of the 8th Annual ANCA Capitol Hill Armenian Genocide Observance. Senators George Allen (R-VA), John F. Kerry (D-MA), and Paul S. Sarbanes (D-MD) and Representatives Xavier Becerra (D-CA), Shelley Berkley (D-NV), Howard L. Berman (D-CA), Eric I. Cantor, Randy “Duke” Cuningham (R-CA), Benjamin Gilman (R-NY), Michael M. Honda (D-CA), Mark S. Kirk (R-IL), Barbara Lee (D-CA), Grace F. Napolitano, Ed Pastor (D-AZ), Donald M. Payne (D-NJ), George Radanovich (R-CA), Marge Roukema (R-NJ), Ed Royce (R-CA), John E. Sweeney (R-NY), Ellen O. Tauscher (D-CA), and Henry A. Waxman (D-CA) have joined the Armenian National Committee of America and other Members of Congress, to cosponsor the 8th Annual ANCA Capitol Hill Observance in commemoration of the Armenian Genocide. The event will consist of a program and reception on Wednesday, April 17, in the Gold Room (Rm. 2168) of the Rayburn House Office Building, from 6 to 8 pm.

The Observance offers Members of Congress the opportunity to commemorate the Armenian Genocide with their constituents and other members of the Armenian American community — including survivors of the Armenian Genocide — as well as with leaders of human rights organizations, the diplomatic community, and members of the clergy.

The Armenian American community is cordially invited to join Members of Congress in marking the 87th anniversary of the Armenian Genocide.

For further information or to RSVP, please contact the Armenian National Committee of America Western Region at 818.500.1918 or via email at or contact the Armenian National Committee of America Eastern Region at 617.923.1918 or via email at

The Armenian National Committee of America (ANCA) is the largest and most influential Armenian American grassroots political organization. Working in coordination with a network of offices, chapters, and supporters throughout the United States and affiliated organizations around the world, the ANCA actively advances the concerns of the Armenian American community on a broad range of issues.

Complete List of Cosponsors Appears Below:

Senators George Allen (R-VA) Jack Reed (R-RI) John F. Kerry (D-MA) Mitch McConnell (R-KY) Paul S. Sarbanes (D-MD)

Representatives Jim McGovern (D-MA 3) Joseph Knollenberg (R-MI 11) Xavier Becerra (D-CA 30) Shelley Berkley (D-NV 1) Howard L. Berman (D-CA 26) Eric I. Cantor (R-VA 7) Jerry F. Costello (D-IL 12) Randy “Duke” Cunningham (R-CA 51) Barney Frank (D-MA 4) Greg Ganske (R-IA 4) Benjamin A. Gilman (R-NY 20) Joseph M. Hoeffel (D-PA 13) Rush Holt (D-NJ 12) Michael M. Honda (D-CA 15) Sue Kelly (R-NY 19) Mark Steven Kirk (R-IL 10) Jim Langevin (D-RI 2) Barbara Lee (D-CA 9) John Lewis (D-GA 5) Michael R. McNulty (D-NY 21) Gary G. Miller (R-CA 41) Constance A. Morella (R-MD 8) Grace Flores Napolitano (D-CA 24) Frank Pallone, Jr. (D-NJ 6) Ed Pastor (D-AZ 2) Donald M. Payne (D-NJ 10) George Radanovich (R-CA 19) Steven R. Rothman (D-NJ 9) Marge Roukema (R-NJ 5) Ed Royce (R-CA 39) Jim Saxton (R-NJ 3) Adam Schiff (D-CA 27) Mark Souder (R-IN 4) John E. Sweeney (R-NY 22) Ellen O. Tauscher (D-CA 10) Henry A. Waxman (D-CA 29)


For Immediate Release
Media Contact: Naiery Misserlian
Email / Tel: (818) 500-1918
Armenian National Committee of America
Western Region
104 N. Belmont, Suite 200, Glendale, CA 91206 * Tel. (818) 500-1918